cars vs CARS

I came up close and personal with the luxury car of cars: the Rolls-Royce. It was at a dealership in Delhi (right there it’s gotten a free plug) and had a chat with a sales guy who very clearly has experience dealing with the poor people who can’t afford a Rolls but know how to admire one. He allowed me to take pix and drool over the two models, one a Ghost, the other a Phantom.
I don’t know how you folks get around, but let me explain something: these were CARS. Luxury fittings, mega-sized engines, and a computerized suspension system that can figure out what kind of terrain you’re driving over (rough/smooth road, pothole/bump, etc) and adjusts as you go along ie a totally smooth ride. Asking price for the Ghost? A mere $500,000 while the Phantom is almost twice the price. It’s a car for kings, the salesman told me. Even those drivers who haven’t met a bumper they don’t mind scratching, respect the Rolls, he said. He didn’t allow me in as the particular models had been bought. But I got to look inside. The Phantom’s silvery hue was specially mixed for the owner, ie customized colour.  I would advise you to please stop here and think about your means of transport. That is not a car. It’s not even an attempt at a car. It is a piece of tin that takes you from place to place.

Leave a comment